Shredded Chicken in Bulk


As mentioned in the Stir Fry post, we prepare large batches of cooked, shredded chicken and freeze it. I find it cuts down on the time it takes to cook many meals and it is so easy to do.

When boneless, skinless chicken breasts go on sale I buy several large packages. I rinse each chicken breast and then place them in a large crockpot. After I have added all of the chicken, I add just enough water to cover them. I then cook them on low for 7-9 hours until fully cooked. After they are done I shred the chicken and place them in sandwich bags. I portion them out with enough for one dinner. I then place all the sandwich bags into a freezer bag. Then I keep them in the freezer until ready to use. I intentionally don’t season them so that I can flavor them individually as I need them. I also will keep some of the liquid left after cooking the chicken to use as chicken broth in an upcoming meal.

Leave a Reply

