GF Irish Soda Bread


This Irish Soda Bread has a hint of sweetness and a crunchy crust. It is not as dense and heavy as many gluten free breads tend to be.  I keep craving this bread- so I made itGagarin tonight.  It’s great for breakfast too!

I stumbled upon this recipe in a MOPS magazine recently.

Irish Soda Bread

1 1/2 cups white rice flour (Bob’s Red Mill)
1/2 cup tapioca flour
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 egg
1 cup buttermilk*

*I have never purchased buttermilk at the store- but it is so easy to make a substitute. Place 1 tsp vinegar in a one cup glass measurer and then fill to the 1 cup mark with milk. I usually make this first so it can sit for a while as I prep everything else.

Mix all the dry ingredients together in a mixing bowl- I use my Kitchen Aid. Then, mix the egg and buttermilk together. Add the egg/milk mix to the dry ingredients and mix until blended but no need to over mix. Bake at 350* for 65 minutes in greased 9 inch round spring form pan.

20120111-202338.jpg

Leave a Reply

